Monday, June 17

Independent Spirit Awards: Everything Everywhere cleans up

Everything Everywhere All at Once won big at this year’s Independent Spirit Awards, taking home seven awards out of eight nominations. The only award it didn’t win was, interestingly enough, one it did win, as Ke Huy Quan beat Jamie Lee Curtis in the Best Supporting Performance category.

Here are the winners of winners of the 38th Independent Spirit Awards:


Best Feature:
Bones and All
Everything Everywhere All At Once
Our Father, The Devil
Women Talking

Best Director:
Todd Field, Tár
Kogonada, After Yang
Daniel Kwan, Daniel Scheinert, Everything Everywhere All at Once
Sarah Polley, Women Talking
Halina Reijn, Bodies Bodies Bodies

Best First Feature:

Emily the Criminal
The Inspection
Palm Trees and Power Lines

Best Lead Performance:
Cate Blanchett, Tár
Dale Dickey, A Love Song
Mia Goth, Pearl
Regina Hall, Honk for Jesus. Save Your Soul.
Paul Mescal, Aftersun
Aubrey Plaza, Emily the Criminal
Jeremy Pope, The Inspection
Taylor Russell, Bones and All?
Andrea Riseborough, To Leslie
Michelle Yeoh, Everything Everywhere All at Once

Best Supporting Performance:
Jamie Lee Curtis, Everything Everywhere All at Once
Brian Tyree Henry, Causeway
Nina Hoss, Tár
Brian d’Arcy James, The Cathedral
Ke Huy Quan, Everything Everywhere All at Once
Trevante Rhodes, Bruiser
Theo Rossi, Emily the Criminal
Mark Rylance, Bones and All
Jonathan Tucker, Palm Trees and Power Lines
Gabrielle Union, The Inspection

Best Breakthrough Performance:
Frankie Corio, Aftersun
Gracija Filipović, Murina
Stephanie Hsu, Everything Everywhere All at Once
Lily McInerny, Palm Trees and Power Lines
Daniel Zolghadri, Funny Pages

Best Screenplay:
Kogonada, After Yang
Lena Dunham, Catherine Called Birdy
Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert, Everything Everywhere All at Once
Todd Field, Tár
Sarah Polley, Women Talking

Best First Screenplay:
Sarah Delappe, Bodies Bodies Bodies
K.D. Dávila, Emergency
John Patton Ford, Emily the Criminal
Joel Kim Booster, Fire Island
Jamie Back and Audrey Findlay, Palm Trees and Power Lines

Best Cinematography:
Gregory Oke, Aftersun
Hélène Louvart, Murina
Anisa Uzeyman, Neptune Frost
Eliot Rockett, Pearl
Florian Hoffmeister, Tár

Best Editing:
Blair McClendon, Aftersun
Ricky D’Ambrose, The Cathedral
Paul Rogers, Everything Everywhere All at Once
Dean Fleischer Camp, Nick Paley, Marcel the Shell with Shoes On
Monika Willi, Tár

Robert Altman Award:
Women Talking, director Sarah Polley; casting directors John Buchan and Jason Knight; ensemble cast: Shayla Brown, Jessie Buckley, Claire Foy, Kara Guloien, Kate Hallett, Judith Ivey, Rooney Mara, Sheila McCarthy, Frances McDormand, Michelle McLeod, Liv McNeil, Ben Whisaw, August Winter

Best Documentary:
A House Made of Splinters
All That Breathes
All the Beauty and the Bloodshed
Riotsville, U.S.A

Best International Film:
Corsage (Austria, Luxembourg, France, Italy, England)
Joyland (Pakistan, USA)
Leonor Will Never Die (Philippines)
Return to Seoul (South Korea, France, Belgium, Romania)
Saint Omer (France)

Someone to Watch Award:
Adamma Ebo, Honk for Jesus. Save Your Soul.
Nikyatu Jusu, Nanny
Araceli Lemos, Holy Emy

Truer Than Fiction Award:
Isabel Castro, Mija
Reid Davenport, I Didn’t See You There
Rebeca Huntt, Beba

John Cassavetes Award:
The African Desperate
A Love Song
The Cathedral
Holy Emy
Something in the Dirt

Producers Award:
Liz Cardenas
Tory Lenosky
David Grove Churchill Viste


Best New Scripted Series
The Bear

The Porter
Station Eleven

Best New Non-Scripted or Documentary Series:
Children of the Underground
Mind Over Murder
Pepsi, Where’s My Jet?
The Rehearsal
We Need to Talk About Cosby

Best Lead Performance in a New Scripted Series:
Aml Ameen, The Porter
Mohammed Amer, Mo
Quinta Brunson, Abbott Elementary
Bridget Everett, Somebody Somewhere
KaMillion, Rap Sh!t
Melanie Lynskey, Yellowjackets
Himesh Patel, Station Eleven
Sue Ann Pien, As We See It
Adam Scott, Severance
Ben Whishaw, This Is Going to Hurt

Best Supporting Performance in a New Scripted Series:
Danielle Deadwyler, Station Eleven
Ayo Edibiri, The Bear
Jeff Hiller, Somebody Somewhere
Gbemisola Ikumelo, A League of Their Own
Janelle James, Abbott Elementary
Ebon Moss-Bachrach, The Bear
Frankie Quiñones, This Fool
Sheryl Lee Ralph, Abbott Elementary
Molly Shannon, I Love That For You
Tramell Tillman, Severance

Best Ensemble Cast in a New Scripted Series:

This was a unique year for the Independent Spirit Awards. Not only was it the first time since 1997 that the ceremony wasn’t aired live on IFC, but it also marked the first time that the acting categories went gender-neutral.

Everything Everywhere All at Once is well on its way to Oscar gold. Not only does it have the most nominations there as well, with 11, but it has been the movie to beat for quite some time now. While the Independent Spirit Award for Best Film is far from an accurate predictor of the Best Picture Oscar–six of the last 12 winners have lined up–the odds of Everything Everywhere All at Once boosting that stat over 50% are almost guaranteed.

What do you think of the winners of this year’s Independent Spirit Award winners? Were you surprised or disappointed in certain categories? Let us know!

The post Independent Spirit Awards: Everything Everywhere cleans up appeared first on DIAL NEWS.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Generated by Feedzy